My Eternal Summer

We are already halfway into summer and I barely had the chance to enjoy the warm weather as I am usually confined indoors because of the baby. There have been less days that were ideal for outings this summer. I never really had to tackle a hurricane season before I moved here from California, so having it rain most of the summer really puts a damper on all our plans.

But today, Mother Nature gave us a break. She let the sun out after almost two weeks of gloominess. I’ll take whatever she can offer. I already knew that because we were expecting our bundle of joy, we would be taking less day trips to the beach and having less activities for our vivacious three year old. Here comes the Mommy guilt again. Also, we rarely use our community pool. It is not toddler-friendly and usually very crowded. Summer is not the same without drenching oneself with water at least once. So, I made a trip to Target and bought her a sprinkler system and some water shoes. This was the result:

DSC_9641 DSC_9645 DSC_9650 DSC_9651 DSC_9654 DSC_9658 DSC_9671 DSC_9685 DSC_9693 DSC_9697 DSC_9700

DSC_9666

Everything is in full bloom now in our garden. Can’t wait to taste the melons!

DSC_9668 DSC_9669

Her giggles and screams of pure excitement are enough to satisfy my heart. I live vicariously through her innocent zest for life. Although this summer will be very low key for us as we settle into being new parents once again and Autumn will be here before we know it, my daughter is my eternal summer, shining radiantly everyday for us and giving us that light that we sometimes need when life becomes a bit gloomy.

Happy Sunday!

Love,

Sophia

Leave a Reply

